Bitter Sweet Love

image

In continuation of my Dark Elements special, a review of Bitter Sweet Love, the series prequel! I must say, I 💖LOVED💖 it.

Bitter Sweet Love by Jennifer L. Armentrout
🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
Synopsis:
Dez wasn’t just Jasmine’s crush. A gargoyles Warden like Jas, he helped her come to terms with her destiny-fending off demons and maintaining the balance between good and evil. He was her everything…right until the moment he disappeared without a trace. It didn’t help that Jas’s father had just announced that she and Dez would one day be mated. Hard not to take that personally.
And now he’s back, three years older, ten times hotter, and ready to pick up exactly where they left off. But Jas isn’t taking that risk again. Dez has seven days to meet all of her conditions and earn back her trust. Seven days filled with terrifying danger and sweet temptation. Seven days to win her heart-or shatter it all over again…

Boy do I love the official synopsis. Which is why I didn’t sub one of my own. πŸ™‚

Review:
Okay, so I’ve giving 5 stars. Phenomenal. Gripping. Hot. I love Jen’s work as a rule (I’d buy anything she wrote without a synopsis, or even if the synopsis sucked, which is a HUGE pet peeve of mine), but Jas and Dez are my new fave couple of hers.
Jas is sassy and spunky and still so very vulnerable. I felt like I was having a conversation with one of my besties about her guy troubles to the point that I actually gave her advice while reading. I literally felt with her every second.
And Dez…I admit to reading the first few pages and being ready to full on hate the poor guy for Jas’s sake. But from the second he comes on scene, he’s perfectly irresistible. Sweet, funny, protective, loyal, and oh-so-hot. Even when Jas throws down her conditions, he rolls with it. Even throws in one of his own.
It’s a roller-coaster of emotion, with the bitter sting of betrayal tinging Jas’s view and decisions, and the sweetness of a first love that by Jas’s own deciding is more of a forbidden temptation as Dez gets down to seducing on his deadline.
In short, I absolutely adored it to the point that I kept going long after I meant to go to bed. I foresee reading it over and over and over again, and a can’t wait to read Layla’s story, now that I’ve finally gotten my copies of  White Hot Kiss and Stone Cold Touch. All of my fellow readers out there who started the Dark Elements with WHK, give it a read. All of you who like Jen’s work but are leery about gargoyles in YA / NA (raises hand sheepishly while simultaneously shaking head st own foolishness), give it a go. And all of you out there who are trying Jen, gargoyles, or even NA (New Adult, the sexy older sister to YA ), I say you HAVE to give it a shot. It’s worth the read, and I can’t believe I’ve had it on my TBR list just  because I was waiting until I picked up WHK. (Face palms).
Available on all digital platforms, as far as I know.
Go check it out! And stay tuned for my reviews of White Hot Kiss and Stone Cold Touch. Following which it’s my intention to do a Candace Knoebel special for Halloween, and then the Highland Shifters bundle as individual releases (I’m about a week behind on everything this month).
Happy Readings!
Kate

Leave a Reply

